Wednesday, December 10, 2014

Anniversary Get Away

I have been wanting to blog about our wonderful magnificent marvelous stupendous Anniversary Get Away. It was okay... :) Heheheh, It was fantastic! We felt so strongly that we needed to get away just with each other so we started planning and saving a while ago, then everything started coming down and I am just so grateful that we were able to go. We did so much, were able to relax, we actually slept in the same bed!!, and we ate abnormal amounts of food. 

We spent Thanksgiving with my Mom and slept over at her house. Then we got ready and left about noon on Friday. Right before we started getting dressed Audrey started throwing up... everywhere. Ugh I am probably too panicked as a Mom but I don't even care. When she is sick I can't even handle myself, it took everything to not pull the plug and stay home with her. Luckily the Love girls are seriously amazing and urged us to go.

With our guilt fairly high, we wanted to go check out the Puppy Barn in American Fork! I had been looking every day all day for a puppy for Audrey and we had heard about this new store. The store is really nice, and the dogs all seem happy and have a nice place to stay. I saw this one puppy sleeping while all his brothers and sisters were playing and I immediately fell in love. I didn't want to wake him so I tried to pet him but I couldn't wait. I picked him up and I was hooked. He only could stay awake for a few minutes and then just cuddled with me the rest of the time. 

FRIDAY


I probably sat and cuddled with him for 20 straight minutes. Adam and I both almost pulled the plug (AGAIN) and cancelled everything so we could buy him. But we kept talking and saying, if he's here Monday we will come and get him. I had even named him Leo, and couldn't get up and leave him. The owner came over and kept warning us that if we didn't get him now he wouldn't be there by Monday. I thought he just was being pushy and trying to get a sale. But by Friday night they had posted a picture of a sweet little family with a little girl... and there they were holding my Leo. :( It's good we didn't get him because we need to wait, but I'm still a little heartbroken over this sweet guy. 

Let me dry my tears... hahaha. ANYWAY! Next stop was Rib City. When we can squeeze it in the budget - we make every excuse or "reason" to need to go to Rib City when we visit my Mom. We are such loyal and steady customers I feel like we should have our own booth with our names carved in.


The last three to five times we have gone, I have gotten violently ill and can't finish my food. I was hoping it wouldn't happen this day, but of course it did. Stupid stomach. BUT! The food is just as good as leftovers. Rib City is seriously a hidden gem. With the best ribs, turkey sandwiches, cole slaw, and buffalo chicken tenders in the state. YES. I just said that. Believe me, I have done my research. 

We stayed at the Little America where we spent our wedding night. Adam reserved one of the little court side cottage rooms, it was so cute and cozy! We immediately tried to take a nap... (isn't adulthood so glamorous?) but we just happened to be next door to a very energetic and enthusiastic couple so we quickly tried to leave the room. 

That night we decided to have a fancy night out! Adam treated me to a new outfit - a fancy dress, heels, and banging necklace. And he got a new shirt and tie, and looking mighty fine. Our room had an adorable little vanity which made me feel very glamourous, and I tried to get Adam to capture the moment... didn't quite work out how I had hoped. 


 Here's the finished look! I LOVE my dress! It's from DownEast, which honestly I think is overpriced and ALWAYS seem to get holes, buttons falling out, etc. BUT- I love how you don't have to make any alterations, or find 10 more things in order to make your outfit modest. 


Obsessed with this vintage-y looking necklace.

I had been talking to Adam for months about getting a wedding band for my ring. I absolutely love my wedding ring, love love love, but it only has one band and had started to bug me that it looked like an engagement ring and not that I was actually married. Silly? Frivolous? Yes, sue me. Plus the money to get one? Heh, probably not until our 30th wedding anniversary. Well anyway, a few weeks ago Adam took our rings in to be cleaned then came home and told me that he looked at getting wedding bands. I was floored that he had even looked! He said "yeah there's no way we can get one, they will be about $4,000-$5,000". So that shut me up. 

But then he went on and on about all these surprises he had for our weekend and I felt like he had 
gotten one. If you know me, you know that I can't take surprises. They drive me nuts! I literally won't be able to sleep because I just obsess about what it is. He started getting really nervous while we were getting ready and I started to think just maybe he had really gotten one. 

He drove us to Memory Grove. This is where Adam proposed to me and means so much to us from our years of dating. I started to get nervous, it was like he was proposing all over again! He wanted to take us to the "engagement bridge", where he actually asked me to be his wife - but we had gotten there pretty late so we sat on a sweet bench and then he brought it out.

He got me a wedding band! It was beautiful and I think it was the first time that I was actually speechless. I couldn't say anything I just kept staring and smiling! It was beautiful! It didn't match exactly with my ring, but my ring is made so that a lot of bands don't go with it. He did a good job though and I was really impressed that he had picked it out all by himself.

Before I show pictures of it, I have to say that we actually returned the band! The entire night I just kept staring at it and I LOVED it. But it started to bug Adam how much they didn't match and line up. I definitely noticed that it didn't but I kept assuring him that I could just wear the band sometimes, and that I didn't care. We agreed that the next day we would go to the store and see if they had anything else that might work better, and if not we were keeping it. 

We went to the store on Saturday and the same salesperson was there luckily. He had told Adam there was nothing that he could really do, that this would be the closest thing - but once I showed up he sang a different tune! He had my exact same ring in the store!!!! There is only 10 of my ring in the world and when we got mine I was told that it was the last in Utah... but this one actually was! He showed us that we could actually buy the same ring, take out the prongs for the main center diamond and fill it with small diamonds that match the band. So I will have my wedding ring on the top. then the exact same band on the bottom! I was seriously the happiest person in the entire mall! I was jumping up and down, and embarrassing my husband with kisses and hugs, and about 15 "YOU ARE THE BEST MOST AMAZING HUSBAND ON EARTH". 

I felt bad we returned it because I seriously loved the original and it meant so much that he got it by himself. But he was really happy with how the ring would turn out, plus because we spent X amount of dollars I got a free necklace and ring! 

This was our 7th purchase from Schubach.
Does this mean we can part own, or at least get some stock?!

Mr. Christensen did good. 
We are showing off our rings! :) I was beyond excited about my band!
Like I said, it wasn't perfect but I still loved it! And I suddenly felt like a new person while I wore it. Like suddenly I was older and more mature. Oh how jewelery goes to a woman's head! 

After this amazing surprise we went to a glorious dinner at Happy Sumo! We are sushi skanks. Yeah, I said it.


We are obsessed! And you can get cheap sushi that still is fantastic, but you have to admit - Happy Sumo is the best.

SATURDAY
We didn't have to set an alarm, or wake up and watch Barney at 7 AM. But our sleeping in was only until 7:30, hahah I guess our body's are too used to it. We got room service breakfast in bed! Nothing makes you feel more pampered than breakfast in bed.

 The most amazing cream! Oh and the waffles were fantastic too.
 Adam got French toast which was yummy but admits I ordered better. 
(It's a daily competition we have between each other)

After breakfast we headed down to Draper to go to Color Me Mine! We love this place! You get to pick out a ceramic piece to paint and decorate. It is so fun and great for groups and families! We have wanted to go for a while but Audrey is just a tad too little to take. 


While we were busy painting we got this sweet update from our Audrey! She ended up throwing up all Friday and most of Saturday but was luckily acting happy and cuddly. It killed being away from her even though we were having a blast. This was only the 2nd night I had ever been away from her.

It was so peaceful while we painted. 
There was a small boy's birthday party going on in a separate room but besides that silence! 
We aren't used to that anymore.
 I of course did a hot chocolate mug, and of course it was owls! 
The colors don't look how they will once cooked - I know "cooked" isn't the right word but I can't think of the REAL term.
And Adam chose a little snowman decoration to put up in our house. 

After Color Me Mine, Adam let us splurge! We went to Deseret Book and got THREE new nativities. I am obsessed with nativities and collect them. My dream is to one day have so many that they cover every surface of every room in my house. The ones we got that day are smaller but still unique and I was so thrilled to get new ones. We hit up Quilted Bear to get... more Christmas decor! I will post a picture of my favorite find later, but it's a NOEL sign made out of real books! I was so smitten with it. It was so creative and unique, and super cheap! We then headed to City Creek to visit the Disney Store... bad idea on Thanksgiving weekend. I think I was ran over about 4 times, but Santa and Mrs. Claus were able to get some great ideas for some blonde curly haired Miss.
View from City Creek sky bridge. Downtown is the bees knees. 

We also were sure to make time for one of our favorite places to eat. DP CHEESESTEAKS! I know we haven't had the real authentic phillies, but hey I don't even care! These are the bomb. Plus DP has the best root beer ever! And as some of you know, my husband has done extensive root beer research.


Our favorite is the "Philly Bleu". So. Freaking. Delicious.

We were hoping to catch a nap... (yes even on vacation we don't make time for naps) but by the time all the shopping was done - it was time for the JAZZ GAME! We are die hard Utah Jazz fans, and I was able to score some good seats. Plus! The trax have a station right outside the hotel, and only takes 8 minutes to get to ESA. No paying for parking. WIN WIN WIN.

 Trax Selfie.
 Gordon Hayward... mmm.
Fact: His rookie year in 2010 with the Jazz I was smitten with him. 
And not just because of his looks but I pointed to him during a game and told my Dad, "He is
fantastic! 
He is going to be the star of the Jazz one day". 
So as you can see I am psychic.
 I hadn't sat on this side of the court, so it was a little weird. 
But we were on the first row of the nose bleed section! 
So not bad in our book.
As you can tell from the unnecessary food shots, we were eating a lot. 
Plus the steroids just make me fat and bloated anyway - but look at this! 
This is ridiculous. 
A food baby for the books! 


I am really grateful to have married someone as weird as me. 
 The Jazz were slaughtered! 
It was a terrible game and we were clearly upset. 


 Hopped on trax, 8 minutes, then back!
 Woohoo for public transportation.
After we got back, I of course was craving caffeine. 
We got some energy drinks (we are so cool) and played with all the hotel's Christmas decorations.

SUNDAY
We were very sad to leave, we stayed in our room until the very last minute and then still went and lingered in the beautiful lobby for 15-20 minutes. 
 Doesn't he look like a little king?
 No make up face. 
On Friday they had been setting up all their Christmas decor, but by Sunday it was all done and GORGEOUS! 

We checked out and headed to Olive Garden. I used to hate all the hype about Olive Garden but the last two years I have finally understood, just a little late to the game. Olive Garden was dead, so our waiter spent a lot of time entertaining us. 

After stuffing ourselves even more, we went to MOCKINGJAY! People had been giving us horrible reviews so we even considered not seeing it in theaters but I don't know what people were talking about! We thought it was really great!! Adam has quite a thing for Miss Jennifer Lawrence, but honestly who doesn't?!


So this was a novel worth of a post but this was seriously the most fun weekend I have had with Adam since... well our last weekend alone! HAHHA It had been since March 2012 that we have done a little weekend for ourselves. And it's hard for us, we feel like bad parents if we aren't constantly putting Audrey first and always playing and being with her. But it's necessary to get away and get that connection back with your partner. 

I am still crazy in love with this guy. I seriously don't understand how I got someone so incredible. I can't believe we've only been married for three years - it feels like we've always been together! But I sure am grateful for him and the beautiful life he has, and is always working to give us.



No comments:

Post a Comment